Basic DUI Penalties in Massachusetts

If you are convicted of DUI in Massachusetts, you will likely face a license suspension, a fine, and a possible term of imprisonment. The maximum penalty you could face for a DUI conviction increases with each subsequent offense. In Massachusetts, the basic DUI penalty structure looks like this:

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Fined $500 - $5,000
  • Up to 2 ½ years in prison
  • License suspended for 1 year

SECOND OFFENSE:

  • Fined $600 - $10,000
  • 30 days - 2 ½ years in prison
  • License suspended for 2 years

THIRD OFFENSE:

  • Fined $1,000 - $15,000
  • 150 days - 5 years in prison
  • License suspended for 8 years

FOURTH OFFENSE:

  • Fined $1,500 - $25,000
  • 1 year - 5 years in prison
  • License suspended for 10 years

FIFTH OFFENSE:

  • Fined $2,000 - $50,000
  • 2 years - 5 years in prison
  • License suspended for life

Contact Us to
Discuss Your Case

617.262.1800
The Captcha image Reload Image